2016 Hartwell Award for Open Innovation

Invited keynote speakers include the 2016 recipients of the Hartwell Award for Open Innovation:  Christiana Figueres for her tireless efforts in support of collaborative and global action on climate change as Executive Secretary of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change; and Massimo Banzi, co-founder of Arduino, for his work driving creativity and imagination through open-sourced technologies.


Dr. Leland Hartwell

The award namesake, Nobel laureate Leland Hartwell was a founding director of Sage Bionetworks and the 2015 Open Assembly Co-Chair.  Dr. Hartwell is former president and director at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and currently chief scientist at the Biodesign Institute, Sustainable Health at Arizona State University.  

Former recipients include Jessica Jackley for her work with Kiva using microlending to empower entrepreneurs across the globe, and Bill Drayton as founder and chair of ASHOKA, Innovators for the Public.